The European Network in Aging Studies (ENAS) was first established in 2010 within the framework of the project “Live to be a Hundred: The Cultural Fascination with Longevity,” funded by the Netherlands Organization for Scientific Research (NWO) in the program Internationalization in the Humanities. A description of the founding project can be found here.

The founding members are:

  • Center for Gender and Diversity (Maastricht University, NL)
  • Center for Inter-American Studies (University of Graz, AT)
  • Women, Ageing and Media Research Group (UK)
  • Grup Dedal-Lit (University of Lleida, ES)
  • NISAL (Linköping University, SE)
  • German Aging Studies Group (DE)

The associated partners from the USA were the National Women’s Studies’ (NWSA) Aging and Ageism Caucus and the Modern Language Association’s (MLA) Age Studies Discussion group.

When the NWO-funded project came to an end in 2013, the European Network in Aging Studies was re-launched as a formal international association with seat in Graz, Austria. North American partners built a parallel network, called North-American Network in Aging Studies (NANAS).

With this further institutionalization of age and aging studies research collaboration, ENAS and NANAS continue to facilitate sustainable cooperation among existing and new partners. 

Information on the organizational structure of ENAS can be found in the ENAS Constitution